top of page

When To Let a Trend Go

Fashion is cyclical, they say in that what’s old is new and what’s new is old. If you’re anything like me, you hold on to your treasured pieces and may not be so quick to let them go, when the rest of the world moves on. But if you’re also like me, you’re buying classic pieces that stand the test of time and then there is no need to let go of it.

But what if you buy more trendy pieces? How long should you old on to it or when do you know when it’s time to let go?

Buying a trend: first things first, don’t break the bank trend pieces (unless you want to), if you know ahead that it will go out of style soon. Use this type of clothing, accessories, etc. and buy them at more affordable places so that if and when you have to get rid of them, you’re not heart broken.

Getting rid of a trend: this is going to be subjective to so many things: age, where you live, how much you invested in the piece, and how you still feel about it once the moment has passed. My personal rule of thumb, if when I leave my apartment I feel like the world is going to laugh at me, then it’s probably time to let it rest for a while and try something new.

Should you actually throw the trend away: I personally don’t since so many trends come back again, I’ll hang on to it for a while, just in case.

1 view0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page